The Institute for Climate Change and Environmental Management shall be under the supervision of the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs. The ICCEM has five (5) departments, each of which has different units:


Functions of the Different Departments

I. Research and Extension Department (RED)

Conducts researches in environmental education, environmental issues, management and protection of the different ecosystems in Region III and nearby environs. It is also responsible in ensuring public awareness and knowledge on environmental issues through community projects and through dissemination of environmental information for public understanding and awareness and extend service pertaining to environmental management, pollution prevention and resource conservation to the community (Environmental Impact Assessment/Social Impact Assessment, Environmental Monitoring). It consists of the following units:

  1. Technical Research Unit: Phytoremediation/Bioremediation, Climate Change, Biodiversity, Ecosystem Services, Environmental Quality, Disaster Risk Management, Lifecycle Assessment, etc.
  2. Social Research Unit: Environmental Education, Policy/Advocacy, Socio Economics, Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), Environmental Management, etc.
  3. Green Production Unit

c.1. Green Products from Recycled Papers & Biomass Wastes

c.2. Organic Fertilizers through Vermicomposting & Biodigester

c.3. Center for Hydroponics and Aquaponics Technologies (CHAT) 

II. Environmental Education Department (EED)

Responsible for promoting environmental education especially in tertiary and graduate levels. Responsible for giving training/ seminar/ workshop regarding environmental education/ issues. This department also produces and acquires print and non-print media materials that can serve as tools for effective and efficient instruction and information/ technology dissemination. It consists of the following units:

  1. Non-Formal Unit
  2. Information and Educational Material Resources Unit

1. Library

2. Environmental Education Resources

2.1 Regional Integrated Coastal Resources Management (RIC) Learning Center

2.2 Climate Change Center

III. Environmental Conservation Department (ECD) 

Concerned with strengthening the capacity of the off-site conservation facilities thru collection and conservation of biodiversity, educating the public and contributing to sustainable development. The ECD consists of the following units:

  1. Biodiversity Center Unit
    1. Conservation Park   
    2. Biodiversity Museum
    3. Nursery
    4. Native Tree Living Museum
    5. Agrobiodiversity Museum
  2. Resource Management Unit
    1. Biodiversity Molecular Laboratory  


IV.  Disaster Risk Management and Public Health Department (DRMPHD)

Responsible in the preparation of disaster risk reduction strategies for all climate change programs and activities and must be in-charge in the disaster management in case of disaster due to climate change and other natural calamities. It shall also be responsible to make plans and local actions in the occurrence of diseases and emergencies concerning public health in relation to Climate Change in CLSU and other local communities up to the regional level. This department will work in collaboration with the LGU’s Disaster Management Office and National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), Office of National Defense, College of Veterinary Medicine, CLSU Infirmary and Philippine National Red Cross.  It consists of the following units:

  1. Disaster Risk Management Unit
  2. Public Health Unit


V.   Information Management Department (IMD)

Responsible for weather advisory in CLSU and for database management pertaining to climate change, weather, hazard maps and other data relative to climate change, biodiversity and other environmental management related data. This department will work in coordination with PAGASA-DOST in CLSU, Region III and National Main Office; Mines and Geosciences Bureau; DENR, PHIVOLCS-DOST; and NAMRIA-DENR and PCIEERD, DOST. It consists of the following units:

  1. Information Unit
  2. Database Management Unit